Dean Guilarte inducted into Johns Hopkins Society of Scholars

Mar 8, 2018

Society MedallionDr. Tomás R. Guilarte, dean of Stempel College and professor in the Department of Environmental Health Sciences, will be inducted into Johns Hopkins University Society of Scholars on April 9, 2018.

New members are honored during an annual ceremony in the George Peabody Library at the Peabody Institute at Johns Hopkins University (JHU) in Baltimore, MD, where an official certificate and medallion signifying the membership will be presented to this year’s small group of inductees.

“The Society of Scholars embodies the excellence that defines Hopkins,” said JHU provost Sunil Kumar. “By celebrating those who have achieved at the highest level, often across disciplinary boundaries, we celebrate what we hold most dear: a commitment to excellence.”

In addition to Dr. Guilarte, notables amongst this year’s 11 inductees include Dr. Lynn R. Goldman, dean of the Milken Institute School of Public Health at George Washington University, and Dr. Elias Zerhouni, current president of global research and development for Sanofi and former director of the National Institutes of Health.

The Society of Scholars was established in 1967 on the recommendation of former university president Milton S. Eisenhower and was approved by the Board of Trustees. Society members, nominated by JHU faculty, have achieved marked distinction in their careers since spending their formative years at Hopkins as postdoctoral fellows, postdoctoral degree recipients, house staff and junior or visiting faculty.

Dr. Guilarte received his Ph.D. and spent three decades as a professor and researcher in the Department of Environmental Health Sciences at JHU’s Bloomberg School of Public Health.